New Zealand is part of many Free Trade Agreements, meaning import tariffs are heavily reduced or even eliminated. The New Zealand Government is currently working on making it easier for overseas companies to export to New Zealand where these changes are expected to take effect late 2025.

New Zealand is part of the following Free Trade Agreements currently in force:

New Zealand – European Union Free Trade Agreement

The FTA between New Zealand and the European Union comes into effect 1st May 2024 and represents a huge opportunity for exporters and importers. Two-way goods and services trade between New Zealand and the EU is worth NZ$20.2 billion (2022). New Zealand’s main goods exports to the EU are wine, fruit, dairy, fish and seafood, meat, medical appliances and mechanical machinery. Our services exports are mainly tourism, transportation services and professional and consultancy services.

New Zealand – China Free Trade Agreement

China is New Zealand’s largest trading partner, with two-way trade valued at over NZ$37 billion in 2021. Tariffs are eliminated for over 98% of New Zealand goods exports to China. The FTA enables better access to high quality Chinese goods for New Zealand businesses and consumers - all imports from China are eligible for tariff-free access.

New Zealand – United Kingdom Free Trade Agreement

Two-way goods and services trade between the two parties was more than NZ$5.3 billion (20220. Over time, the UK will eliminate all tariffs on New Zealand exports. All customs duties on all products will be eliminated between both countries once fully implemented.

New Zealand – Malaysia Free Trade Agreement

Two-way trade in goods between Malaysia and New Zealand was more than NZ$3.5 billion in 2019. The agreement offers more to importers and exporters than the commitments made in the AANZFTA.

New Zealand – Thailand Closer Economic Partnership

New Zealand and Thailand are complementary economies, with Thailand exporting mainly manufactured goods to New Zealand, and New Zealand exporting agricultural goods and wood.

New Zealand – Republic of Korea Free Trade Agreement (KNZFTA)

KNZFTA is a high quality, comprehensive agreement which delivers significant commercial benefits to exporters. Korea is a key trading partner for New Zealand, with two-way trade worth $5.38 billion in the year ending December 2021.

New Zealand – Singapore Closer Economic Partnership

Singapore is New Zealand’s largest trading partner in the South-East Asia region, with NZ$5.7 billion of two-way trade and $5.6 billion of two-way direct investment in the year ending December 2019.

New Zealand – Australia Closer Economic Relations (CER)

CER is a FTA between New Zealand and Australia. Australia is NZ’s most important trading partner, with two-way trade worth NZ$29 billion in 2022.

ASEAN-Australia – New Zealand free trade agreement (AANZFTA)

AANZFTA is an agreement between ASEAN member states: Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Singapore, Thailand, Viet Nam and the Philippines, New Zealand and Australia.

New Zealand – Hong Kong, China Closer Economic Partnership (CEP)

CEP gives exporters a competitive edge, and the ability to take advantage of growing opportunities. The CEP complements New Zealand’s FTA with China and enhances the potential for Hong Kong to be used as a platform for trade into China.

The Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP)

CPTPP is a FTA involving 11 economies in the Asia Pacific region + the United Kingdom.

Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP)

RCEP anchors New Zealand in a region that is the engine room of the global economy. The 15 RCEP economies are home to almost a third of the world’s population and include 7 of NZ’s top 10 trading partners.

Digital Economy Partnership Agreement (DEPA)

DEPA is a FTA between New Zealand, Chile and Singapore. The scope of this FTA is to consider all aspects of the digital economy that might support trade in the digital era, in addition to looking at a range of emerging digital economy issues and subject areas. Canada and the Republic of Korea have both expressed interest in joining.

The Pacific Agreement on Closer Economic Relations (PACER)

PACER is a landmark trade and development agreement that will raise living standards, create jobs and increase exports in Pacific Island countries.

Trans-Pacific Strategic Economic Partnership (P4)

P4 is a FTA between Brunei Darussalam, Chile, Singapore, and New Zealand is the first free trade agreement linking Asia, the Pacific and the Americas. The P4 set the scene for a much more ambitious Pacific Rim agreement. Eight more countries have joined the P4 economies to negotiate the free trade agreement known as Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP).

Once a FTA has been concluded, it needs to be legally verified, signed and then ratified by the governments of the parties involved. New Zealand is part of the following FTA’s not yet in force:

Trans-Pacific Partnership Agreement (TPP)

TPP is a FTA that would liberalise trade and investment between 12 Pacific-rim countries. The countries are New Zealand, Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Peru, Singapore, the United States and Viet Nam. The concluded TPP Agreement was signed in February 2016. New Zealand, which is the depository for the TPP, ratified the Agreement in May 2017. Japan has also ratified it. However, the TPP cannot enter into force until it is also ratified by four other signatories, including the United States. The US has notified that it does not intend to become a party to the Agreement. In light of the US withdrawal, ministers from the remaining 11 members affirmed the economic and strategic importance of the TPP.

Anti Counterfeiting Trade Agreement (ACTA)

ACTA aims to set a higher benchmark for intellectual property rights enforcement. ACTA isn't a free trade agreement — it's a narrower agreement aimed at combatting the growing international trade in counterfeit goods and pirated copyright protected works. Countries can adopt ACTA voluntarily. ACTA has been signed by New Zealand and 10 other WTO member countries but is not yet in force.

Some FTA's New Zealand is party to are not yet concluded. New Zealand is currently in negotiations for the FTA's:

  • New Zealand – India FTA
  • New Zealand – United Arab Emirates free trade agreement (CEPA)
  • NZ-Gulf Cooperation Council free trade agreement (GCC FTA)
  • Indo-Pacific Economic Framework for Prosperity (IPEF)
  • New Zealand-Pacific Alliance free trade agreement
  • WTO e-commerce negotiations